Burdens: Hand ‘Em Over

The last couple of days have been kind of rough. 

Nothing major or catastrophic has happened, just your regular, run of the mill, grown-up/first world/parenting problems.

If you are a grown up with small children living in the United States and (taking your job as a parent seriously) breathing actual air, you know EXACTLY what I’m talking about.

Silly little annoyances over the last few days have brought me DOWN:

-Waiting in long lines.

-Vending machines that WON’T work.

-Little children that WON’T obey.

-Slow internet.

-Computer crash. (A special kind of frustration when you are a WORK AT HOME mom.)

-Missing your husband because he works 6 days a week.

-Forgetting to pay the water bill/waiting til the last minute, then the website you need to pay it on will NOT load.

-Laundry that WON’T do itself.

Neverending messes.

-Child with food allergy runs out of non-dairy milk at pre-school, so husband rushes to the store to get it while you sit and imagine worst-case scenarios of your 3-year-old grabbing other kids’ drinks and a trip to the ER in your future.

Graduation looming. (What in the world and I gonna do next?)

Stuck by trains in Kenova. Enough said.

-Running late for EVERYTHING.

 

I could go on, but I won’t.

 

Why are these things bothering me so much?

I asked myself this question.

Then I asked God this question.

I opened up my Bible.

Here’s what it said:

 

“Cast your burden upon the Lord and He will sustain you; He will never allow the righteous to be shaken.”

Psalm 55:22 (NASB)

“Cast all your anxiety on Him because He cares for you.”

1 Peter 5:7 (NIV)

Wow. I wasn’t giving my concerns to Jesus. THAT is why I was feeling so yucky. It’s not the same as just telling your friend about your day and venting your frustrations. The Word says to CAST them. In other words hand ‘em over.

 I needed an attitude check.

So I had a long heart-to-heart with Jesus. I handed it all over. It’s amazing the freedom that comes with that!!!!

At Camp Cowen, we always used to sing this song that went along with 1 Peter 5:7…..

Imagine these words to a cheesy Reggae sounding beat. And with the words ending in –ER, pronounce them with –AH (Instead of Higher, we said High-AH, Instead of super, we said SUP-AH… and so on)…

 

Here it is:

 

“Cast your burdens

Upon Jesus

‘Cause He cares for you.

 

Cast your burdens

Upon Jesus

‘Cause He cares for you

 

Higher, Higher

Higher Higher Higher Higher Higher Higher

Lift Jesus Higher

 

Lower, Lower

Lower Lower Lower Lower Lower Lower

Stomp satan Lower

 

Super, Super

Super Super Super Super Super Super

Supernatural Power

 

Fire, Fire

Fire Fire Fire Fire Fire Fire

Holy Ghost Fire!!!!

 

Shout out to Camp Cowen Peeps: You can thank me later for putting this song into your brain that will surely be there ALL DAY LONG.

(P.S. I’m so thankful for you. Thank you for being part of the foundation that God laid down in my life. It’s the foundation that brought me back to Him after a long time of going astray). *HUGS

 

Just a couple of my Cowen People (Not sure about the year, Maybe 2000? or 2001?)..Help me out peeps. :)  From Left to Right: Lee Boso, LeeAnn (Jordan) Woda, and ME!

Just a couple of my Cowen People..
From Left to Right:
Lee Boso, LeeAnn (Jordan) Woda, and ME!

 

I’m giving Him my burdens today. Even the little ones.

 

Will you?

 

Because of Him,

Amy

One thought on “Burdens: Hand ‘Em Over

Leave a Reply

