Back from Blogcation

Yes, I know. It’s the week of finals. Shouldn’t I have waited until next week to return from my Blogcation? Probably. But there is something much too big going on in my life right now to NOT blog about. Immediately.

 

Plus I needed a break from studying.

 

A few weeks ago, (April 11th to be exact), I began my day just like any other. I stopped by Starbucks on my way to school and got my vanilla latte and sausage breakfast sandwich. I had no idea it would be the last piece of meat I would ever care to eat.

 

This semester at Marshall, I took an English Class called “Texting the World,” (Rhetoric in Popular Culture) taught by Dr. Roxanne Aftanas .  There is not enough blog space here to talk about this class, and the impact it had on me. It was a critical thinking class and after taking it, I cannot live my life, day to day, without asking WHY? about everything. I am constantly analyzing now. On April 11th, she DARED us to go 5 days without eating meat or dairy, and to watch the documentary Forks over Knives . So I did it as kind of a fun social experiment. On the 3rd day of the #nomeatchallenge something happened. I felt AMAZING . The best I had felt in years.

I watched only a few  minutes of the documentary “Forks over Knives,” and I was in tears. When it came to the story about the man taking insulin shots everyday I had to stop the film. The reason I stopped it is because I KNEW my husband needed to be watching it with me. JR is a type II diabetic and ALSO taking insulin shots. That evening we watched the documentary together. To be honest, I fell asleep before it was over, but he stayed up and watched the whole thing. The next morning we discussed the documentary and he was telling me about the parts I missed (after having fallen asleep), I asked him what he thought about it. LOVE is not a strong enough word for how my husband feels about steak. It was his absolute favorite thing on earth to eat. I never thought in a hundred million years he would ever consider giving it up. But the morning after we watched the film he looked at me and said, “This way of eating reversed that man’s diabetes. And one day, I want to play with my grandchildren. So I’m going to do it.”  I was floored. So on day 5, my husband joined me on the no meat challenge.

On this blog, I have talked about my struggle with weight and my desire to become healthy.  For the first time, I feel like it’s happening:

 

3 weeks in and I lost 15 pounds!

3 weeks in and I lost 15 pounds!

Yes! 15 pounds! I am feeling great. I don’t feel like I am dieting, I just changed my lifestyle….This is only the beginning!

Leave a Reply

