The Pearl

Right now, I have approximately 5 or 6 unfinished blog posts sitting in my drafts. I have at least two reasons for this: My 20 month old, and my 2 month old.

My sweet baby boys: Aidan and Nathan

My sweet baby boys: Aidan and Nathan

I am a little ( a lot) overwhelmed right now.

I have so many things I need to share, but right now is not the time I guess. I need to share about being on bed rest while trying to take care of my toddler. I need to tell the story of my little Nathan’s birth and what a miracle it is that he survived it and made his way into the world. I need to share about how I cried my heart out when I had to come home from the hospital without him when he stayed in the NICU for 7 days, and how I survived it by cuddling with my toddler CONSTANTLY when I was not at the hospital. I need to talk about pumping breastmilk. LOTS of pumping. See there? I’ve already worn myself out, and I haven’t even mentioned my postpartum issues yet.

There is so much to share, but to do it justice, I’m going to have to wait until life calms down a bit.

I read something today that I just had to share. I can’t begin to tell you how much I needed this today and how much it ministered to me. I hope it will to you as well!

The Story of The Pearl

“Most people know that a pearl comes from an oyster. It isn’t just luck of the draw or random chance- in fact, that little oyster has to do a lot of work and endure quite a bit of hardship during the making of that pearl. And the most amazing part of the process is that the oyster’s goal isn’t even to make a pearl. The oyster’s goal is to insulate itself from the offending irritant.

A pearl is formed when a single grain of sand or tiny foreign particle is lodged inside an oyster. If left alone, that tiny particle will cause damage to the tender mollusk. The particle is an irritant, causing the oyster to produce a lacquer-like substance called nacre. The oyster secretes the nacre to cover that irritant as a means of protecting itself. It constantly works to shield itself from the irritant. Those layers of nacre coat the sand granule, eventually sealing away the irritation and forming a gorgeous pearl.  Offenses are just like that grain of sand-when someone says or does something to us that offends us, it is as if they put sand in our oyster. While the oyster always knows how to deal with its grain of sand, we too need to learn how to deal with the offenses that irritate us.

Throughout our lives, unfair things will happen. People will let us down, they’ll say things that hurt our feelings, and they won’t always treat us the way we think they should. If we allow those offenses to take root in our heart, they will cause us to become bitter and lose our joy and enthusiasm for life. We must learn to insulate ourselves from offenses and to keep our hearts pure. One of the keys to loving your life is learning how to take those negative things, give them to God, and allow Him to produce the priceless pearls our lives are meant to be.”  – Victoria Osteen

Leave a Reply

