Baby Nathan Update!

Happy Wednesday!  I thought I would take the time this morning to give a little update on the progress of our pregnancy and what has been going on in our life as of lately! As I was looking back over my previous posts, I realized that my baby updates have been kind of brief and I have a few gaps to fill in. 🙂

When we first found out about this pregnancy, I think my husband and I were both in shock. When I showed him the little blue plus sign on the pregnancy test, he just looked at me in silence for what seemed like forever, then very timidly said, “Honey, <insert long pause here> I just don’t know what to say…..” Bless his heart. I didn’t know what to say either. It was so unexpected, yet such happy news. We were both speechless. And trust me, I am NOT speechless very often. (I think I just heard an amen from someone/anyone who knows me!) Ha.

In all this excitement, I was having a hard time recalling exactly where I was at in my cycle. I was pretty sure that my cycle had started the first week I had classes, which would put my LMP around January 9. When I went to my first doctor’s appointment, they told me my estimated due date was October 16. Then later on, we went for our first ultrasound and (after hearing the baby’s heart beat for the first time!) our due date got moved to November 6. So for the majority of this pregnancy, that is what we’ve gone by, anytime someone asked when we were due and also how many weeks along I am.

So, when we went to our doctor’s appointment on September 6,  I was 31 weeks pregnant. I was feeling good for the most part, but I was having moments and days where I was just SO very tired and sometimes just feeling downright BAD. I just assumed it was because I was saying goodbye to the 2nd trimester energy and saying hello to 3rd trimester aches, pains and TOBP (Tired of Being Pregnant) syndrome. I was having a harder time keeping up with my little boy, who is a very energetic 17 month old, and I expressed this whining and complaining concern to my doctor. He said he would like to do an ultrasound anyway to check on the baby’s growth. I was diagnosed with HG (Hyperemesis gravidarum ) and had lost 15 pounds through the course of my first 20 weeks of pregnancy. Even though I have gained back most of the weight I had lost, he still wanted to check on our little guy’s progress. So we go in for the ultrasound. I looked on the screen and saw a much bigger baby than what I expected to see.

Our little Nathan

He was legs and arms all over the place. He has a head full of fuzzy hair. He was sucking his thumb. He weighed in at 5 pounds 3 ounces. But the most surprising part? He measured at 34 WEEKS. I was an entire THREE weeks further along than what we thought! Our due date got moved back to October 17.

So, here I am today, at 36 weeks pregnant. It makes my head spin to think that at this point in our journey with Aidan, he was already born! He was born at 35 weeks, 5 weeks early due to pre-eclampsia/toxemia. I am so thankful for all that God has given me. It was very scary when Aidan came early, and I was SO VERY SICK due to the pre-eclampsia that I felt like I didn’t get to enjoy the last weeks of my pregnancy with him. God is merciful and we both ended up okay. I have hoped and prayed for a different experience with this pregnancy, than the labor and delivery I had with Aidan. I got some disappointing news at my doctor’s appointment this week, that I am starting to show some symptoms of pre-eclampsia, that is requiring further testing. Please pray for us, that the test results show NO TOXEMIA and that our little boy will be born safe and healthy, when he is READY! I am feeling good for the most part (just tired mostly!) I don’t feel even a FRACTION as bad as what I did when I was getting ready to give birth to Aidan, so hopefully the tests we are doing will come back okay.  Thanks so much for your prayers!

Because of HIM,

Amy

I appreciate each and every one of you for reading my post and for your love and kindness! This week I was so excited to get started with an 8 week Bible Study on the book of Colossians with Good Morning Girls and Women Living Well ministries. I am so thankful to have this online study during a season of my life when I am spending so much time at home! It’s only the third day into the study and I already feel like I’ve learned so much. I’m so excited to see what God is going to do next!

One thought on “Baby Nathan Update!

Leave a Reply

