So Much Has Changed!

Where have I been the past few days? Well, I am now a full-time college student at Marshall University, for the first time in 10 years.

So much has changed in those 10 years.

There are now dorms in the place I where I used to park, so I had to pay for garage parking. Then walk a country mile to Smith Hall.

I was very surprised by how much homework and assignments that my instructors are having us do online. Most of my exams will be taken online. I like it. 🙂

The Calamity Cafe is no longer there. This requires a moment of silence.

<<cricket…cricket…>>

Okay, moving on.

The biggest shock to me was that The 20th Street Baptist Church has been torn down and a new Rec center is in its place. Wow…

The buildings and ways of life at Marshall University are not all that have changed. I have changed. As I walked across campus today, I started thinking about what I was like 10 years ago. I was so focused on being a part of the crowd and fitting in. I had extremely low self-esteem. I was depressed much of the time. More than anything? I was empty and lonely. Today? I am none of those things. As I made the trek back to my parking spot in the garage this afternoon, I noticed something. My head was held up high. I had my chin up and I caught myself smiling involuntarily.  It was time to go pick up my baby, go home, make dinner for my husband and spend time with my little family. Yes, indeed, so much has changed, but for the better.  I’m sure I am a little biased, but I think I have one amazing life.

For those of you following my blog and my pledge to Healthify My Year, thanks for your support! I am 11 days in, and I am still soda and fast food free! The first week, I went down a whole pants size! Woo hoo! I only lost one pound, but I am celebrating it. Remember, it’s all about baby steps and making small changes.  It is NOT a diet!

Leave a Reply

