So Far So Good

The journey has begun! It is week 1 of my healthy new life. So far so good!

My first step on this journey to get healthy was to end my relationship with fast food and to break up with the drive thru.  I decided to take the pledge with my friends at Eating for Me to “Healthify” my year. This week, Elizabeth has given us 3 challenges

Challenge #1- Remember The Goal – The goal is to get healthy. We’re not going to focus on losing X number of pounds by a certain date. We are taking baby steps to lead a healthier life. If we focus on the pounds, and we don’t lose them, we may get discouraged and quit. This is NOT a diet.

Challenge #2- Write Down What You Eat– So I started a food journal. I am using just a regular notebook with lined paper. Nothing fancy. I can already tell this will make a difference for me. On the first day, I really thought hard about what I was choosing to eat, because I knew if I ate it, I had to write it down. And I did not want to write down that I was eating sweets, especially on my first day! Am I giving up sweets? No, I’m not. I’m just thinking more about what I eat before it goes in my mouth, down into my belly, and then its too late. A food journal is going to help me keep track of what I’m eating and help me evaluate what small changes I can make, that will make a difference without making me feel deprived.

Challenge #3- Identify your biggest weakness– Well I already talked about my infatuation with the drive thru and fast food. My biggest weakness goes hand in hand with that. My weakness is soft drinks. Soda pop. Dr. Pepper to be exact. Oh and Root Beer too. Sugary, bubbly, caffeinated drinks. I’m a sucker for them. I do not discriminate, I have yet to meet a sweet carbonated drink that I just down right hate. Dr. Pepper/Mr. Pibb is my favorite, but if a place does not carry it, Coke or Pepsi will do just fine. Forgive me, but I’m about to go off on a tangent.

It may be just me, but I find it amusing how this substance is called something different everywhere you go. I’ve had the pleasure of traveling all over the country in my short 31 years. Traveling is one of my FAVORITE things to do. So I’ve noticed that…

The further north you go, they call it Soda.  Out west, they call it a soft drink. Here in West Virginia we call it Pop. In the mid-west they call it Soda Pop. In Tennessee they call it Coke. For real. Even Pepsi is called Coke. I once had this experience with a server in Jackson, Tennessee.

Server: What can I get you to drink?

Me: I’d like a Coke please.

Server: What kind of Coke would you like?

Me:  A Coke.

Server: <<Blank stare>>

Me: Umm.. Coca Cola Classic?

Server: We don’t have Coca Cola products, How about a Pepsi?

Sigh…..

Anyway, I digress.

So there you have it, my biggest weakness. And no, I cannot switch to diet dr pepper. I’ve tried. It actually makes it worse, makes me want my good stuff even more. So this may not be a big deal to some folks, but I have decided to give it up. For now. Not forever. I can do it. I gave it up throughout my pregnancy and survived. If I start to REALLY feel deprived, I’m going to treat myself to a diet root beer. This journey is about baby steps, small changes. It is not life altering to substitute my pop for a glass of juice. Or better yet a glass of water. I think it will make a difference and it for SURE will be alot healthier!

Lastly, I have to make a correction about something I confessed in my last post. I shockingly disclosed my honest to God weight. According to the scale in my bathroom yesterday, I weighed in at 245. So that’s what I posted. In actuality, that scale cheated me! Today, out of pure curiosity, I did a body test on my Wii Fit program, and it also measures weight. According to the Wii scale, today I weigh 235 pounds. No I did not lose 10 pounds in 1 day. Take a look at what this cheating scale reads with NO ONE standing on it:

My nemesis

Either the air in my apartment weighs 10 pounds, or its time for me to chuck this thing out the window.

So, what do you call a soft drink? Pop? Soda? What is your biggest weakness when it comes to getting healthy?

9 thoughts on “So Far So Good

  1. Sarah K. (The Mama Pirate) says:

    We say Coke or soda.

    I quit it all though when I started trying to lose weight and I’ve learned to love water. OK, maybe not love, but adequately tolerate it to the point that I only drink it or unsweet tea, usually green or herbal. I’m weighing in tomorrow. Dunno if I’m brave enough to post it or not though.

    Cheers to your goals!

Leave a Reply

