Oh how far we’ve come!

My baby boy, Aidan Cameron,  turned 6 months old this past week!

We’ve come a long long way, He and I.

I’m going to go ahead and apologize, because I’m going to gush here a little bit.

My eyes are leaking as I look back over the past 6 months. Aidan has surpassed all my expectations of what having a baby would be like. We’ve hit some bumps in the road, but nothing that we couldn’t overcome together. He is such a joy to be with. He has the best little personality and is happy 98% of the time!

I’ve been around many babies in my short 31 years. I started babysitting at 13 years old and began soaking up baby knowledge at a very early age. I always wanted to be a mother. A GOOD one. My dream came true the moment I found out I was pregnant! I never knew that I could love SO MUCH. The love I have for my child is unlike any feeling I’ve ever experienced before. I am forever changed. My baby boy brings out the best in me.

This is such a fun time for us right now! I may or may not have cried when I purchased Bubby’s first sippy cup last week, in preparation for this 6 month milestone. He’s just growing up so fast! I have so many different emotions right now.  I think I’m a little overwhelmed too.  I have been a breastfeeding Mommy for the last 6 months. Nursing my newborn was the most challenging, rewarding and wonderful thing I’ve ever done in my life. So here’s what I’m dealing with now… He’s not a newborn anymore

*Pause for dramatic emphasis…*

I’ve been in “taking care of new baby/new mommy survival mode” for so long now, its hard for me to step back, take a deep breath and chill out a bit.

If you are a breastfeeding mommy, you know exactly what I’m talking about. You obsess over the frequency or infrequency of diapers. Pee to Poo ratio. Am I producing enough milk? Is he peeing enough? I know the diaper is wet but not REALLY wet. Shouldn’t he be peeing more?  These are the questions that were always going through my mind because I am was producing his food supply. I was the source of his food! Well now its time to start a new chapter in Aidan’s life. Starting solids. What I should really say is Aidan started himself on solids. Two weeks before he turned 6 months old, he took my husband’s bread right off his plate and tried unsuccessfully to eat it. The kid was ready to eat! So we started him on cereal, which repeatedly got spit back out at us. After many failed attempts, we moved on to some stage 1 veggies. We gave him green beans first, they were a  hit! Peas, not his favorite. Carrots….oh “Yes please!” He says! We’re trying out the veggies first because I am afraid that if he tries fruits first, then he won’t eat the veggies. So every few days we try a new food, to see if he likes it. My baby, my little baby is getting food from something else other than me. He’s transitioning well, better than me! I know I’m being very sentimental about this experience. It’s just that I’ve been in newborn baby mode for so long now that it’s a little overwhelming to try to get out of it. There are so many new things to consider right now:

Sippy cups. Jarred baby food. Baby cereal that can be mixed with breast milk. Baby cereal that can be mixed with Jarred baby food. Teething biscuits. Homeopathic teething tablets. Walkers and exersaucers. A new and bigger car seat.  Baby proofing our apartment.

*Sigh*

Okay…I’m taking a deep breath now and going to go have a cup of coffee. Smile Happy Six months Bubby. Mommy loves loves loves you!

Aidan 6 months

Aidan Cameron on his 6 month birthday.

7 thoughts on “Oh how far we’ve come!

  1. marlenataylor says:

    Happy 6mo. birthday Aidan! Amy, I have an extra exersaucer if you want to borrow it for your little guy…I just ask for you to return it when done so I can use it in my daycare. I love to read about your motherhood adventures. Aidan is adorable, and your love for him is inspiring.

    • Amy Mac says:

      Thanks Marlena! My sister already gave me an extra exersaucer, but thanks so much for offering! I’m still looking for a walker though, I think I will try the kids consignment sales in November, to get a used one. Thanks so much for following my posts!

  2. Amanda says:

    Our ped told us that it doesn’t matter what order they eat their food, FWIW…because mama’s milk is sweet, so they are used to the sweet taste. A sweet taste is a sweet taste, he’ll probably like it better regardless! Luke hates green beans but loves peas, and he also really likes the mixed veggie puree. We bought a big bag of it frozen from sams club and I puree it myself. He’s precious 🙂

    • Amy Mac says:

      That’s good to know! We started apple sauce this week and he really loves it. That is the first fruit we’ve tried so far. He’s such a good little eater. Thanks so much!

  3. Elena says:

    Awe – happy 6 months! I remember all the questions I used to ask myself in the beginning as well. It’s especially tough when you’re trying to accommodate someone who doesn’t talk back to you!

    • Amy Mac says:

      Thanks Elena! Yeah it’s tough to know what he wants sometimes, but I figure it out eventually, usually by process of elimination! 🙂 He’s still doing so well though. It is such a fun age right now!!!

Leave a Reply

