My Best Friend

I have had the same best friend for the past 10 years. In this blog I will call her “Mrs. Busybee” or just BB. (BB can also stand for Best Buddy!) I call her Mrs. Busybee because she is the BUSIEST person I have ever known. She juggles family, work, church, friends, groceries and extra curricular activities and still has the grace and time to chat with me through it all.


Our friendship began when we met in college. She stayed in the dorms while I was renting a house off campus. I sometimes felt like I was missing out on all the fun because I was not living in the dorms. BB would invite me to the dorms and we would have sleepovers. On the weekends we were either at my Dad’s house or at her parents’ house. We worked together at the same day care while attending college.

BB got married and had her first baby while we were still in college. I was the FIRST non-relative to hold that baby. It went: 1. BB & her husband, 2. BB’s parents, 3. Husband’s parents, 4. ME!!!! BB has always made me feel like a part of her family.

BB is always there for me. When I had to have surgery get my appendix removed, she brought me flowers and visited me every day in the hospital.

When I turned 21, I went through a very rebellious time in my life. I began to party alot more and go to class alot less. Even though BB disagreed with my choices she never judged me. She just kept on loving me just the way I was.

BB has laughed with me, cried with me, held my hair back when I was drunk, and has listened to me complain endlessly about how unfair life is. She prayed AND fasted for me when I was struggling with my faith in God. She was there with me when I stood up in church a couple of months ago and gave my testimony about how God has changed my life. Between the two of us we’ve been through it all! Here are some of the things we’ve been through and helped each other with:

  • rebellious years
  • fights with parents
  • fights with siblings
  • getting married
  • getting divorced
  • getting remarried
  • in-laws
  • ex-husbands
  • ex-boyfriends
  • struggles with infertility
  • losing jobs
  • starting new jobs
  • losing loved ones
  • death of a father in law
  • death of 2 grandparents
  • babysitters
  • daycare
  • child support
  • homework
  • going to church
  • heartache and let downs
  • joys and victories

You name it we’ve been through it.

So to my BB, I want to say THANK YOU. Thank you doesn’t seem like enough to say, its just too simple. For all you have been and continue to be for me THANK YOU. For believing in God for me when I had no faith left, THANK YOU. For being my sister, prayer warrior, accountability partner, ( I could go on and on). I love you more than words could ever say!

I will close by sharing a card that BB sent to me back in 2003. She may not even remember sending it to me, but I’m very sentimental and always hold on to things like this:

“We’re not just friends, we’re tell-it-like-it-is friends. And boy, do I ever need that! We can be politically incorrect, complain about men, and talk about our private thoughts and feelings. We both understand that the sands of time are shifting, hair can actually ‘go bad,’ and one’s memory can come and…whatever. We don’t let each other wear something that’s all wrong or keep silent if one of us is making a bad decision. Its good that we can cry in front of each other without embarrassment, knowing that we’ll be understood, and right or wrong, we know we’ll always be there for each other. Time and time again you’ve touched my heart with your sweetness, your caring, and your thoughtfulness. I’m so grateful to have a friend like you. You’re a rare and wonderful person and I’ll treasure you forever.” Kay Andrew

At the bottom of the card BB added in her own handwriting:

“I miss seeing you and I found this and it said just what I needed it to. Thank you just doesn’t seem like enough.”

Love,

BB

September, 2003

All I have to say is, right back at you BB!!!

One thought on “My Best Friend

Leave a Reply

